top of page
  • Christy Martin

Welcome to the Reading and Writing Sentinel

This page is meant to showcase the writing efforts of myself and others. You will see my book reviews, opinion pieces, and snippets of my fiction and non fiction writing. I will also share with my readers information and other news on reading and writing and the writing of others.


Just so you will know me, I recently retired from 35 plus years in education K-12 and above, as well as 8 years in social services working primarily with youth aging out of foster care. I have taught and facilitated many programs for youth that were at risk academically or personally. Those amazing young people continue to be my passion. Their struggles and successes inspire me.


I have lived in the foothills of the Smoky Mountains for my entire life surrounded by incredible beauty and uplifted by my Appalachian roots and heritage. Read and write with me as I continue my journey.











20 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page